On average, home sellers in Utah spend nearly 7 to 8 months selling an inherited property. Median days on the market will increase significantly in the coming months due to the slowing real estate market in Utah.
So, if you are ready to sell your inherited house in Utah, start now!
- Probate Process: A probate is a legal validation of a deceased person’s will that helps to distribute the property amongst its heirs and beneficiaries.
- Sale of an Inherited House in Utah: After the probate is completed, the process of selling an inherited house is the same as selling a pre-owned house in Utah.
- Selling a House with Multiple Inheritors in Utah: If the inherited property has multiple heirs, the majority can decide to sell the house by filing a lawsuit of partition action in the state probate court of Utah.
- Inheritance Tax: The state of Utah does not impose an inheritance tax upon the transfer of ownership.
- Bottom Line: In 2023, more sellers in Utah are opting to sell their homes by owner. By using Utah For Sale By Owner websites, you get full exposure via the MLS and save thousands in commission – negating the decline in home prices.
Can I Sell an Inherited House in Utah?
Yes, you can sell your inherited house in Utah after the probate process is complete. Selling an inherited property is similar to selling a pre-owned home.
Here are two crucial factors that can impact your sale:
1. Probate Process
An inherited property in Utah must undergo a probate process that can take 4 to 5 months to complete. The probate period varies statewide. It can extend in case of multiple inheritors or the absence of a will.
You need to submit the owner’s death certificate and property ownership proof during the probate process. You also have to pay for several expenses such as outstanding mortgages, taxes on the property, and other bills.
Properties Exempted from Undergoing Probate Process in Utah
You will be exempted from a probate process under the following conditions:
- Utah Transfer-on-Death Deeds: Transfer-on-death deed in Utah allows the ownership of a property to transfer directly to the inheritor when the owner is deceased. The owner can retain control over the property as long as he lives.
- Receive a House in Trust in Utah: A property trust is a legal entity that allows the passing of the ownership of a property from the grantor (the owner) to the beneficiary. You can inherit a house directly without probate if the owner has placed the house in a trust.
2. Mortgage on Inherited Assets in Utah
The mortgage on the inherited property in Utah can be paid off in one of three ways:
- 👾 ALIENATION CLAUSE: This clause triggers when the ownership of an inherited property is transferred to a new heir. The inheritor now has to pay off the full mortgage. However, certain laws allow you to repay the mortgage on a monthly basis. A real estate attorney can help you with this.
Taxes on an Inherited Property in Utah
You have to pay taxes while selling the property in Utah and not when inheriting it.
1. Inheritance Tax
Inheritance tax is a state tax applicable when you inherit a property from a deceased person. However, the state of Utah does not impose an inheritance tax while inheriting real property.
👉 NOTE: Inheritance tax does not apply to the spouse and children of the deceased owner.
2. Taxes When Selling an Inherited Property in Utah
- Transfer Tax: Transfer tax is a one-time fee you pay when transferring the ownership of your inherited house during its sale. Utah does not impose any transfer tax.
- Property Tax: Utah imposes an average effective property tax rate of 0.52%. It is almost half of the national average of 0.99%. The average homeowner pays an annual tax of $1,351 per year for a home worth the median value of $224,700 in Utah.
- Capital Gains Tax: Capital gains tax is imposed when you sell the house, not while inheriting it. The IRS (Internal Revenue Service) authority levies the tax on a stepped-up basis. Utah imposes the standard capital gains tax at a rate of 4.95%.
- 💡 Capital Gains Tax Exclusion: You can be excluded from paying capital gains tax in Utah if the following criteria are met:
1. You have lived in the property for more than two years in the last five years.
2. You have not used the exclusion in the past two years for another property.
Selling the Inherited Property in Utah
After completing the probate process, you can sell your inherited property. Selling an inherited home is similar to the sale of a pre-owned house in Utah.
You must follow a certain number of steps to sell a house in Utah. They typically include-
- Hiring a Mediator: Hire a real estate agent or realtor to assist you in the home selling process.
- Pricing Your Home for Sale: Analyse the current market trends and price your home accordingly.
- Hiring a Photographer: Professionally photographed homes sell 32% faster. Make sure to hire among the best Utah real estate photographers to create a portfolio of your house.
- Listing Your Home on the MLS: Homes listed on the MLS sell faster and for 17% more. You can list for sale by owner on MLS in Utah via a Flat Fee MLS service like Houzeo at a flat fee.
- Managing Showings: Host open houses and schedule showings to attract potential buyers for your inherited property.
- Negotiating Offers: You must compare the offers from prospective buyers on your listing. You can also negotiate if the proposed offer is too low.
- Closing the Sale: The closing process mainly consists of you completing the final paperwork, and paying the closing costs and home-selling taxes.
» Closing Costs in Utah: Check out how much closing costs are in Utah and who pays them.
Selling an Inherited House in Utah with Other People
Sometimes a single property in Utah might have multiple inheritors. They may include close family members like siblings, cousins, etc. In such cases, selling a house with multiple inheritors can become difficult.
Appoint a neutral party as the head person for sale. They will ensure a transparent home sale process. The head person will also guarantee a fair distribution of proceeds amongst the inheritors.
What if All Owners Don’t Agree to Sell in Utah?
In such cases, the majority of inheritors can go ahead with the sale.
You can start by filing a lawsuit known as a partition action in the Utah probate court. This will allow the majority of inheritors to sell the house and distribute the proceeds amongst themselves immediately after probation.
The majority of owners can also sell the house post-probation. They must file the partition action in the local court instead of the probate court.
Ways to Sell Your Inherited House in Utah
You have several options to sell your inherited home in Utah:
- List Your Utah Home on a For Sale By Owner Website: Utah FSBO websites allow you to leverage technology in your home sale and save thousands in commissions. You retain control of your transaction and can engage directly with the buyer and buyer’s agent. FSBO sites will also get you listed fast, typically within 24 to 48 hours.
- List with a Discount Real Estate Broker in Utah: Utah discount real estate brokers offer all the services that traditional Realtors do but at discounted rates. They usually charge 1.5% to 3% commissions to list your home. You can also opt for a flat fee Realtor to list your home.
- List with a Full-Service Utah Realtor: Hiring a full-service agent may not be the best alternative. They charge a hefty real estate commission of 5% to 6%. This will decrease your net proceeds significantly. However, if you need hand-holding at each step, opt for local Utah realtors in your neighborhood.
- Sell Your Home to an iBuyer in Utah: An iBuyer can instantly make a cash offer and help you sell your house fast in Utah. They make cash offers as high as 100% of the fair market value. However, iBuyers have strict purchase criteria.
- Sell Your Utah House to a Flipper: You can sell your inherited property to professional house flippers in Utah. They extend offers as high as 70% of the fair market value.
✍️ Pro Tip: Sell Your Distressed Inherited Property to Cash Home Buyers in Utah
Cash home-buying companies typically offer 50% to 70% of the property’s fair market value. They majorly deal in distressed and rental properties.
» Utah Cash Home Buyers: Check out our rankings.
Selling an inherited house in Utah is a complex and time-consuming process. Your inherited home might remain in probate for nearly 4 to 5 months. You also have to pay several taxes when selling your inherited home.
All of this adds to the complexity and expenses of selling a house. We recommend you sell with a Flat Fee MLS company to ensure a smooth sale.
Eager to Know More About Houzeo?
We’ve got you covered. Check out the following video to understand why Houzeo is one of the best for sale by owner websites in the U.S.
Houzeo offers 4 Flat Fee MLS packages.
- Bronze Package – $329+: This package offers Houzeo listing only for 6 months with maximum photos.
- Silver Package – $399+: This includes everything that home sellers typically look for.
- Gold Package – $379+: It is Houzeo’s signature MLS package and includes all the technology Houzeo is known for Houzeo Showings, Houzeo Offers, and DigiTransact.
- Platinum – $349+: It includes the assistance of a licensed broker to help you with negotiations, disclosures, and closing.
👉 Our Take: We recommend the GOLD plan. You’ll have access to Houzeo tech, making managing showings and offer negotiations easy! Confirm all prices on the state’s pricing page before you list.
» Houzeo Reviews: Houzeo is 100% online. You can finish listing formalities in less than 60 mins.
Houzeo is America’s #1 Flat Fee MLS service because of 4 reasons:
- Max Exposure: Houzeo MLS packages give you access to the MLS, Zillow, Trulia, Realtor.com, Redfin, and 100s of other websites.
- 5-star Customer Service: Houzeo has a fully staffed customer service desk available 6 days a week. Chats and emails are open 7 days a week. This is rare in today’s world.
- 100% Online: Houzeo is high-tech. For you, this means easy listing, fast changes, online showings, and online offers. Houzeo mobile app is also very powerful.
- No Hidden Fees: In most states, you’ll be paying just a small flat fee to list on MLS by owner. And remember, all fees are disclosed upfront, so there are no Houzeo hidden fees. You get to bypass the listing agent commission.
Real People, Real Stories
Start Your FREE Listing NOW!
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Does Utah have an inheritance tax?
No. The state of Utah does not impose an inheritance tax when inheriting assets.
2. How to avoid capital gains tax in Utah?
To avoid capital gains tax on real estate in Utah, you have to reside in an inherited house for more than two years in the last five years. You also had not used the exclusion on another property to be eligible for the exclusion.
3. Is there a time limit on selling inherited property in Utah?
No, there is no time limit to sell an inherited property in Utah. Once the probate process is completed and the legal inheritor is declared, you can sell your inherited property anytime.
inheritance tax utah, transfer on death deed utah, utah estate tax, utah capital gains tax, utah probate law, utah inheritance tax, transfer of property after death without will in utah, utah inheritance law, does utah have an inheritance tax, inheritance tax in utah, utah estate laws, utah property laws, utah intestacy laws, utah probate, laws, utah inheritance laws without a will, Housezo, houszeo, houzzeo, hozeo
utah inheritance laws, heir property laws in utah, utah capital gains tax on real estate, does utah have inheritance tax, estate taxes in utah, estate tax utah, utah escheatment, death tax in utah, utah intestate succession, how to probate an estate without a will in utah, utah estate law, is there an inheritance tax in utah, estate tax in utah